Isn't skype a data hog?

If rim has video bbm running through their servers internationally, I'm sure it will be compelling for some.
    Add to that the ability of 3rd party apps to integrate with bbm, maybe ms should be worried.
    Im not a developer and have no idea but can't RIM develop other platform apps for BBM and the new BBM video chat? other platform users then just download the app and bohyah there you go???
    11-05-12 06:46 PM
    Pretty simple-minded that you're going to ditch an entire platform based on one single third-party app.
    Not necessarily fair. If he/she has a personal need that involves a specific app, who are we to tell him/her to stick with something that doesn't work for him/her? Especially if, in his/her estimation, the new platform does everything as well as the old?

People pick platforms for supposedly singular reasons all the time. I know someone who uses a touchscreen ONLY because he says he must have some engineering app that has limited availability on other platforms; I know another who sticks with BB because she thinks it has the best physical keyboard.

Whatever works.
    11-05-12 06:47 PM
    One thing is for sure, RIM has had a long time to figure out what they need to do if MS is not going to play nice!
    11-05-12 06:50 PM
    One thing is for sure, RIM has had a long time to figure out what they need to do if MS is not going to play nice!
    Possibly (another rumour), BBM on PC platforms.
    11-05-12 06:55 PM
    i really hope we'll be getting skype on bb10, that would be so amazing..
    RIM is obviously well aware of the fact that the consumers want/expect skype to be available for BB10, unfortunately there's only so much they can do

i mean.. Microsoft didn't just release WP8 for fun, they will be trying to go for #3 (not gonna happen.. xD), but why would they help RIM out? RIM is their competitor and unless RIM can truly offer something of the same value, i'm not so sure we'll be getting skype...