I recently discovered the Kantar Worldpanel visualization of Smartphone OS Market Share (Smartphone OS market share - Kantar Worldpanel ComTech).

It's great for seeing how things looked at any given point in time, but it's not so great if you want to see trends over time.

So, being a data analyst by profession, I manually scraped the data from their viz (hand-entered the numbers into an Excel sheet) and used Tableau to create this viz:

https://public.tableausoftware.com/p...eOSMarketShare

I know it doesn't show markets like Indonesia or India where BlackBerry may still have a decent chunk of market share, but just look at the dominance of Android. It's really quite daunting when you look at it this way. Even iOS has lost some traction.

But look at Windows Phone! It's somehow managed to grow a teeny bit.

What do you think? Will BlackBerry be able to reclaim market share in any of these countries? Or will they remain a niche player from here on out?
    07-28-14 01:25 PM
    I recently discovered the Kantar Worldpanel visualization of Smartphone OS Market Share (Smartphone OS market share - Kantar Worldpanel ComTech).

It's great for seeing how things looked at any given point in time, but it's not so great if you want to see trends over time.

So, being a data analyst by profession, I manually scraped the data from their viz (hand-entered the numbers into an Excel sheet) and used Tableau to create this viz:

I know it doesn't show markets like Indonesia or India where BlackBerry may still have a decent chunk of market share, but just look at the dominance of Android. It's really quite daunting when you look at it this way. Even iOS has lost some traction.

What do you think? Will BlackBerry be able to reclaim market share in any of these countries? Or will they remain a niche player from here on out?