Just to clarify at the start, i'm not a legal expert and am only going by reports in the media on the Apple vs Samsung case, so maybe someone can clear this up with a simple answer...

In the A vs S case which Apple have now won, one of the design patents Apple won on was the physical look of the phone, specifically a rectangle with rounded corners.

All the BB10 alpha devices are exactly that...the 'near completed' BB10 phones Heins showed off a couple of weeks ago have been compared to the rumoured iPhone 5 design. Since a court has found in favour of Apple over this design, does this impact on BB10? Will it fall under this design description? And if so, what does it mean for BB10? Back to the drawing board? Or is the BB10 design deemed different enough not to infringe on this design patent?
    08-26-12 11:09 AM
    It was more than the rectangle with rounded corners.

It was that and the borders, the single home button, the shape of the speaker, the icon layout and the look of the icons.

The whole rectangle thing is taken out of context in most things that are read and reported.
    08-26-12 11:15 AM
    yes they are but its nor boxy then the look of the iphone it has tighter more pointy curves in the corners not a large swoop liek the iphone has, it also has no buttons and on top of that its free so they can't sue for royalies on a device that makes no money and is simply just a alpha tester for devs to build apps
    BB_Bmore likes this.
    08-26-12 11:16 AM
    I guess that would depend on whether or not RIM has permission to use any of the patents involved. Samsung did not.
    08-26-12 11:23 AM
    Apples 2012-2013 Slogan..."Dont make us sue that azz"
    bitek and bb624 like this.
    08-26-12 11:23 AM