Noob here...i have 3 Pearls and an 8900 in my household...T Mobile. Im sorry if this issue has been discussed before but i would really appreciate some lessons learned, etc., on the topic.

Thanks!
    04-28-09 11:13 PM
    If you hit back and not close that will only exit you out of that application. If you select menu>close that's the way to properly close a third party app. Keep in mind there are five apps that are always running, Call log, Home Screen, Browser, BBM, and Messages.
    04-28-09 11:18 PM
    Yes, hitting the ESC (Back) key is like hiding/minimizing the application. Selecting Close from the Menu is actually closing the application, except for the Call Logs, BB Messenger, Homescreen and Messages, as mwdb4au listed.

The Browser is a special case. If you select Close from the menu, you actually close your browser session*, yet it still remains loaded in memory.

* - If you press the Back/ESC key on the Browser, then next time you open it, you are taken to the page you were viewing when you pressed ESC. If you select Menu > Close, the next time you open the browser you are taken to the start page, not to the page you were viewing. It seems like the Browser closes when you press Menu > Close, yet it always appears in the list of running applications. Go figure.
    Last edited by CeluGeek; 04-28-09 at 11:55 PM.
    04-28-09 11:53 PM
    so will i encounter memory issues if i constantly exit (back) and not close the apps or folders? I mainly talking about navigating in and out of media, inbox, and Tool folders.
    04-29-09 05:33 PM