I received my new O2 Pearl 8120 earlier this week.

We have a good, strong wifi network at home, and when I started playing with it last night I initially had problems getting the phone on the wifi, although it seemed to find it quiet easily it wouldn't actually connect to surf the net. I rang O2 who told me I needed to register my phone at o2email.co.uk which I duly did, after which I found that I could connect to the wireless network and surf the net (but only in certain parts of the house - its an old rambling house, I can live with that). However, I could only do this if I went into "Manage connections" and turned off the mobile network. Not ideal.

Today I came home from work and tried to connect to the wifi again and got no success. When I check the "Manage Connections" it shows an yellow circle with a horizonal line through it instead of a nice green tick (which I have never had on the wifi).

However, if I go into "wifi options" within Manage Connections I sometimes get a strange little blue symbol next to the name of my Wifi network with a cross next to it, which I assume is telling me my wifi connection isn't working. But at other times I get a different symbol of 3 sort of little blue triangles which I assume means there's a connection? Even so when I go back to the browser I can't get online.

O2 are neither use nor ornament. I have had conflicting advice everytime I have called them (and have been told that I shouldn't even be able to access the internet at all nevermind by wireless, depsite the fact they confirmed that I am paying for internet access??!!!).

I have tried taking the battery out which I saw suggested on one of the forums but that hasn't made a difference.

My other half got a new HTC Tytn this week and he has had none of these problems.

Can anyone help please? (in simple terms, I am suddenly discovering I'm not as technologically minded as I thought I was). I'd be really really grateful, I'm tearing my hair out.
    01-03-08 04:18 PM