07-02-12 01:28 PM
52 123
tools
    As a developer, I think it's delusional to be writing BB10 apps right now unless RIM is paying you to do so. There are millions of mobile devices that can run your application today if you choose iOS, Android, WP, or even BB7. Working for the next 6-9 months on a BB10 app in the hopes that a market will appear is a gamble. Even if that market does appear, it's unlikely to be large from day one. The payoff for a BB10 developer is small for a long timeline.
    Sucroid likes this.
    07-02-12 10:15 AM
    You're right -- it is speculation, but I happen to feel confident in my speculation. Why? Because I'm a technology journalist. I talk to companies on-record, off-record, on-background every single day.

I'd had several reports from sources I trust that BB10 was going to be delayed until next year starting in early June. Then, at BB Jam, I had people tell me that the delay was happening -- I was told this in an off-record capacity. It was for that reason that I asked dev relations on-the-record. I said straight-up, this is what I'm hearing -- what's the situation? I was lied to. Period.

When it leaks to the underlings, the press people and the dev relations people know. If you aren't ready to confirm on the record, you can sometimes confirm on background, confirm off-record or simply say, "the plan is still Q4 2012 but we have no concrete date and the situation could change." That didn't happen. It was vehement and it was a lie.
    Ok, I wasn't aware you were a writer and had sources.