It is much discussed on the web that PIN messages are not encripted, so if intercepted they could be easily read. My question is, how easy is it for them to be "intercepted", and could just anyone intercept them? Would it have to be someone in an IT department, or could someone that knows what they're doing get my messages on their blackberry?

Thanks in advance for your help!
    01-05-09 10:52 AM
    not sure about general BIS users, but those on BES are very easy, in fact they are logged on the BES server.
    01-05-09 10:58 AM
    First let me say that I'm a newbie at this.

What is a BIS/BES user? Are you saying that someone would have to be in my company to intercept these messages? Say, if you had my PIN number, could you do something that would copy every pin i send to your phone, or could you somehow grab the pin messages I send?
    01-05-09 11:28 AM
    Try these - not sure how much that will help you, but that is RIM's details on the two services:
    BIS
    BES
    01-05-09 11:33 AM
    Thanks!

Our company utilizes the Blackberry Enterprise Server, so theoretically someone in our IT department could intercept these messages, correct? But someone who isn't on our BES would have no way of seeing these messages as long as they were deleted off of the phone itself? Also, if someone had access to my phone, would there be a way for them to set it up where they were copied on any PIN message I send?
    Last edited by thehammer123; 01-05-09 at 11:42 AM.
    01-05-09 11:40 AM
    Thanks!

Our company utilizes the Blackberry Enterprise Server, so theoretically someone in our IT department could intercept these messages, correct? But someone who isn't on our BES would have no way of seeing these messages as long as they were deleted off of the phone itself? Also, if someone had access to my phone, would there be a way for them to set it up where they were copied on any PIN message I send?