Hi everyone,

Currently, I have no blackberry. I've toyed around with the one my wife has for work and that's about it. My carrier is Verizon, and I'm due for an upgrade on my phone.

I looked at the Blackberry Storm - not interested in another touch screen phone. Had way too many issues with the Verizon Voyager (I'm on my 3rd Voyager phone because of a number of different issues).

My wife has the latest Curve - which is quite nice and was the phone I was going to get. But I have just noticed the Blackberry Bold, which also looks quite nice and as I understand it - will work with iTunes.

My first question is, if if I had to choose, should I wait for the Bold from Verizon? Or should I just get the Curve? I will want to use it for email, web browsing, picture taking, music, google maps, GPS, etc.

Also - I have noticed posts about "unlocking" the phones - I'm new to this so please bear with me...but what is the advantage to "unlocking" the phone?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!
    11-02-08 11:23 AM
    Bold is strictly for Att for 3 months, and you cant unlock an att one and use it on verizon. verizon is cdma and att is gsm.
    11-02-08 11:25 AM
    1. The bold coming to Verizon wont be for atleast another year or so, the verizon or and CDMA curve for that matter is a very good device, significantly more memory then other curves and it has EVDO which is fast internet.

2. Unlocking phone is for GSM carriers like Tmobile or ATT, CDMA phones like verizon and sprint are unlockable except for their World Edition Phones which have the ability to use a sim card which makes it unlockable but only for use over seas.

Welcome to CB!
    11-02-08 11:28 AM
    Hurry up and join the fun!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-02-08 11:36 AM
    The curve is a great device, but why not try the storm? It is not even remotely close to being the voyager, and it is suppose to be a great device.