Hey guys, I'm new to CrackBerry, but I need some help. I used to own a 1st gen Storm for Verizon Wireless, but the thing has been nothing but trouble since the day I got it in February of '09. In fact, it finally crapped on me for good about 2 weeks ago. Now, with my upgrade coming next weekend, I want to make sure I'm buying the right phone. I would like to stay with BlackBerry rather then give Android a try despite my problems because I've seen phones such as the older Curves, Tour, and the new Bold and they seem to be extremely reliable. Also i just don't have the $200-300 after rebates to spend on a Droid (I'm a college student, lol). So I was wondering if I should stick with buying the new Curve for $30 after all rebates, or if I should splurge for a Bold or a Tour, which I know have a lot more to offer. Basically you guys (the Crackberry world) has the floor on whether it's the safe bet to get the inexpensive yet IMO very nice Curve or splurge for a Tour or a Bold?
    10-16-10 01:57 AM
    I would compare them in the store if you get the chance. The screen on the curve is really lacking compared to a the Bolds screen. Plus the Bold is just better built. There is a reason why curves are cheaply priced.

Not saying Curves are bad because they aren't bad at all for a entry level smartphone. But of you have the extra money you'll be happier in every way with the Bold 9650. I wouldn't even consider the Tour. It won't be getting OS 6. Gotta remember if your buying from vzw your going to be havng the phone for at least one year. It would be wise to spend a little more now so a year or two from today you still have a phone you'll be happy with.

Also if you order from vzw's website you can get the Bold with the instant rebate price and free overnight shipping. Which would make it $160 for the 2 year price or $230 for the one year price. That is what it told me they would cost me with tax. Also if you want the price of the upgrade can be put on your monthly bill.