Hello all,

I am new to the BB scene. I decided to give it a go after using many dumb phones over the years and wanting more from my device.

Ever since I have got my phone, I live on these forums! Reading, learning and looking at opinions.

My Pearl flip was bought as a introduction into the world of the smart phone. I like the Pearl and I really have no/few complaints about it. In the end, I am a consumer and interested in many things the "average" smart phone user may be interested in.

When I heard about the Storm 2 I thought this was a must have to really introduce me into what a smart phone could be (I consider the flip a tease). After reading some opinions on the Storm 2 and BB in general, now I am wondering if this is the path to take?

Do I buy the Storm 2 in hopes that BB will come out with some real innovation in the touch screen department (or OS in general if you prefer), or do I simply pass for a device that is more geared at the consumer sector?

Please don't get me wrong, the Pearl is a great phone! It just is not what I believe it could be (since it is a standard BB OS, I more then likely have this feeling with any BB device).

One side of me says "go for it" (on another BB device) and another says I should pass. Now.. From a company perspective, I really hope BB can take there current situation and come up with a better OS/product. I would hope that some of the development on the Storm 2 would be a place that BB would start (since the wave of the future seems to be touch screen devices).

I guess my question is this:

Will BB innovate enough to make the consumer feel like they are getting more (think the iPhone or devices of that nature)? Or is BB so tied into the idea of a business based device that they are willing to drown in that fashion?

Before I dump $500 +/- on the table, I would like some opinions.

For those that may feel this has been talked about elsewhere, I am sorry!
    09-30-09 08:55 PM