We used gsm blackberries as a tertiary form of comm in Iraq in 2005-2007 around Fallujah using local Iraqna network sims. Texts were sent using brevity codes. Calls were limited to a few seconds and specific codewords.
    Never had an issue with them, durable, good battery and the network was surprisingly functional.
    Dapper37 likes this.
    07-21-11 08:46 PM
    I'm a contractor to the Government and at the group I work at we use personal, BIS blackberry devices to communicate with each other via BBM all over the world. It works great, even in Afghanistan.
    07-22-11 08:01 AM
    If it's good enough for Obama it's good enough for the military.
    07-23-11 04:18 PM
    Understanding of course that truly secure communication, top secret, would never be sent via BB.
    Just had to say that.
    K Bear likes this.
    07-23-11 07:50 PM
    Understanding of course that truly secure communication, top secret, would never be sent via BB.
    Just had to say that.
    Damn government killing trees instead of using things that use rare earth metals!
    07-23-11 07:52 PM
    If it's good enough for Obama it's good enough for the military.
    You do realize that the president has a Blackberry that had to be secured, right. Even a Blackberry alone was not secure enough for the president.
    07-23-11 08:20 PM
    Damn government killing trees instead of using things that use rare earth metals!
    Are you being a brat again??? I'll have to slap your bum for that!!!
    07-23-11 10:05 PM
    Just ordered my android device today..both android and iphone devices were FIPS 140-2 certified on thursday..looking forward to finally having a work phone that works!!
    08-01-11 01:38 PM
    Just ordered my android device today..both android and iphone devices were FIPS 140-2 certified on thursday..looking forward to finally having a work phone that works!!
    Can I get some of what your smoking
    08-01-11 02:26 PM