I don't understand how there are full blown articles written about a Microsoft buy-out just because of Ballmer's presence during the BBW General Keynote.

As a Waterloo Grad, I can appreciate the research happening at the Institute for Quantum Computing and Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, both which come from RIM's pursuit of higher learning.
    I am absolutely disgusted of the thought that they may go wayward because the company can be evaluated on only $15 Billion and that Apple at $320 Billion is the future? Right, because R&D in "magical" experience trumps quantum computing.

Microsoft could buy BlackBerry: Analysts - The Times of India

TORONTO: With its newly launched PlayBook tablet failing to make a splash and this week's bold announcements about updating its aging smartphones not enthusing investors, speculation has begun that Microsoft may soon buy BlackBerry maker Research In Motion (RIM).

The speculation has been triggered by the presence of Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer at RIM's BlackBerry World annual conference of customers, developers and partners in Florida this week.

Though RIM unveiled new thinner BlackBerry Bold 9900 and 9930 smartphones, multi-platform BlackBerry enterprise solution, a new BlackBerry operating system and announced to update its aging handset line-up at the annual gathering, the gloom has not lifted from the Canadian wireless giant.

RIM stock, which started plunging after the company last week slashed its quarterly outlook on lower sales, has found few takers, prompting analysts to say that the company that virtually invented the smartphone is in terminal decline and ripe for takeover.

They cite the presence of the Microsoft CEO at BlackBerry World conference as a hint of the obvious happening in the next few months.

These analysts say that if market value of RIM -- about $24 billion -- keeps sliding at the current rate, the BlackBerry maker will soon be reduced to just $15 billion.