Great post btw

Posted via CB10
    Then give the man a "like" why don't ya. Lol.
    08-01-13 03:50 PM
    You know, when I first heard that BB10 would connect directly to ActiveSync, I had the same thought, but that's a VERY limited view.

AS connectivity is great for customers who ran BES Express before. People who maybe had a Small Business Server and a dozen or so users. That's a win-win, since BB was no longer stuck supporting a "free" product that was just as complex as its enterprise offering. Agreed, for those customers, ActiveSync is "good enough".

Get past that, though, and it becomes clear very quickly how BES10 is useful. It allows just a stupid level of device management and security. As a BES admin, I can wipe a user's whole phone, or just the "work" partition. I can put policies in place to disable the camera (some companies need that). I can put iPhones and Androids and OS7 phones all on the same management interface. Oh, and for those iPhones and Androids? BB charges $99 per year for those guys to be on BES10, so that's a nice ongoing revenue stream.

I think BES10 is actually one of the brightest spots in BB's product portfolio right now.
    I think the big picture, however, is that fewer and fewer companies care enough about those things to pay for them. I think the overall Blackberry market share numbers wouldn't be what they are if enough companies were willing to pay for them.
    08-01-13 04:31 PM
    Hey great post. Can you tell us how many phones are on your BES10? How many are IOS BB10 and how many are android? How much is BlackBerry making per BB10 device? 50.00 a year? Also so in BES10 cameras can be disabled in IOS and also android?

Posted via CB10
    Glad you liked it :-)

We currently have a fleet of about 60 BB10 phones on our BES. We're trying out Secure Workspace on iOS, but we haven't actually deployed it to users.

At this point we only have two BYOD users in the whole company. I'm one of them.