i'm aware of the few tether for free apps out there, but i dont want to ever worry about being slammed with tos violation consequences or large surprise bills. i've searched the fine print on many carrier websites and can easily find data plan rates but no mention of tethering rates.

having been on nearly every u.s. carrier over the years i realize they all suck equally in terms of customer care; and having the broadest coverage isnt as important to me now as is being able to have the most flexibility for the lowest cost.

i would like to know what carriers rape their customers the least. i'm looking for a list of carriers, if any, that allow free tethering with blackberries and/or any smart phone.

and if there is no free tethering... is there any way to make blackberry display on a monitor? i'm still fairly new to blackberry and must admit i'm a bit miffed when it comes to its sole proprietary micro usb like port.

sorry for the long winded post but this is the first year i've bothered to allow texting on my phone and was kinda shocked that verizon (and maybe everyone) would actually charge extra for text messaging on a blackberry when already paying extra 30 for data and seperate for phone while wanting more for tethering. i mean i understand capitalism but damn.

i've always felt data is data is data... and the way i'd use tethering is just basically displaying on a bigger screen what i'd be doing on the berry.

so reminder of the point... any free tethering carriers out there?

~b~
    12-28-09 08:38 AM
    just to clarify, texting is not data it's voice-related so that's why it is not included in the data costs.

with that, I don't think there is any service that legally allows free tethering. Some of them have tethering plans (like Verizon, for example) you can add to your phone above the data cost, but you can't get it for nothing.

I also don't think a monitor display is possible, unless there was some kind of hookup through micro USB to the screen.