Hey all,

I'm a noob at the whole blackberry thing (got an 8130 3 days ago) and have been debating whether to keep it due to the huge verizon data fees. (it was an impulse buy since my last phone broke and I just needed something ASAP) I was in a rush and didn't realize it doesn't have real wifi capability. It seems to me it would be more efficient to get something like an ipod touch (costs as much as the data fees ALONE for one year) paired with a regular phone rather than keep this (and be married to the data fees forever). On the flipside I can get the net anywhere with the BB, but wifi hotspots are so common these days it seems more people are taking the 2 device option. I'm just looking for input why the BB may be the better option. (I don't need internet access constantly and I can still text with a regular phone) Unfortunately I don't make a lot of $$ so the cost-benefit analysis is tight.

Thanks for any input
    05-29-08 06:01 PM
    Only you can say when it comes to $

I did the palm and cheap phone plan for a long time. Love having it all now but sprint is great and I don't know about vz?

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-29-08 06:18 PM
    This makes me sad as a Blackberry lover to say, but....

Realistically if you don't need the Berry for email or constant browsing or any other business needs, and you're not in love with it, then it's not worth the cost. I have no problem paying for a data plan but I live on my Berry for work and play... So, it all comes down to whether you really need it. That's my two cents. Hope it helps.
    05-29-08 06:22 PM
    I cant speak for your pockets- but its really up to what you can/cannot afford. I think you already know what is best for you.

Personally, I think the BB is great. I did the PDA/Phone thing back in 2000. At the time, having a PDA (Palm T|3) made me the coolest kid walking. Soon after, everyone that I worked with had to have one. For its purposes, that combo worked out well.