I'm quite surprised this hasn't shown up yet as a discussion. but with the Apple announcement this week, what does this mean for the Smart Phone market in relation to RIM?

Apple has added:
    -Push Email (through an exchange server)
    -Push Calendar (through an exchange server)
    -Push Address Book (through an exchange server)
    -3rd Party Apps

IMHO, these were many of the reasons i personally picked RIM over the iPhone. To be honest, my 3rd party apps on my BB8830we are Epocrates (i'm a paramedic), and some games. Otherwise I remain in the calendar program (sync'd thru google sync).

In fact, now that Apple has included these new features, it appears that the native feature set of the iPhone seems to be a better choice except for one major thing I can think of, no CDMA.

What does everyone else think?
    03-08-08 03:18 PM
    Well, to me it means that iPHone is simply trying to be just like Blackberry. They're jealous!! Aww.
    03-08-08 03:50 PM
    means they are trying to catch up to the BB by adding as they go! typical microsoft ploy which is BAD. iPhone has it pluses but using activesync will hurt as is flaky program. echange email is good though, microsoft got something right, finally!!
    03-08-08 04:30 PM
    you're absolutely right, they're trying to match RIM's model of phones and data services, the issue i'm curious with is that apple seems to exceed in many other aspects: UI, Multimedia, Web, and other graphical elements.

its almost like comparing BB to palm, palm had a good thing going, but RIM does it MUCH better...
    03-08-08 04:32 PM
    its like taking **** with open door.
    03-08-08 06:35 PM
    I have played around with the iphone before and I was not impressed. The phone will have to fly or do something magical for me to even consider it.
    03-08-08 06:39 PM