Hi everyone!

I hope my title/question made some sense haha. I am a future blackberry owner who's upgrading from a regular phone to a curve 8320 this weekend (hopefully) but alas, being a broke college student I cannot afford a data plan. Most of my time is spent at home or school where I have free access to WiFi and I'm wondering how exactly the use of wifi is going to affect how things on my phone work. I know I won't have access to BIS and can't get push email service. However, will I be able to set up the email program on my BB to retrieve emails from a gmail account when I launch that app? Or will my only option be to launch the web browser, go to the gmail site, log in, and then read emails? Also, how will it affect 3rd party apps like the facebook app. If I'm logged onto the wifi will it go through the wifi or will it use data, thus costing me extra money since I don't have data?

I know that I'm missing out by not having a data plan but I can't justify the cost especially since I wouldn't use it all that often and I'll have free wifi 95% of the time. Some might ask what the point of a BB without data is. but my primary reason of upgrading to a smartphone was to combine my PDA and phone in one. Since high school I've had a Palm Zire 22 and carrying both that and a phone is annoying for many reasons. I tried out a friend's curve and I LOVED it. Browsing this website has only deepened my desire for a Black Berry. I'm practically addicted already and I haven't even bought one yet!

Anyways, back to the topic at hand: any help will be MUCH appreciated; my fellow berry addicts
    10-02-09 07:11 PM
    I don't think you can get a bb activated without a data plan these days. You should try a search on here, there are many threads that cover this. Good luck
    10-02-09 07:39 PM