Hi all,

So sorry for sounding like an *****; I'm new to the world of blackberries and want one for my business for sending and receiving secure messages to my employees.

How do I go about buying a blackberry and setting up pgp encryption.

Any help would be much much appreciated.

Regards

Alan
    02-11-14 01:53 PM
    Well you can figure how to buy the BlackBerry yourself, at least I hope you can. As for the PgP, only option is a third party application. I know of only 1 so far in BlackBerry World. Should be pretty simple enough to setup since it does not directly send and receive, you will have to copy and paste a lot.
    02-11-14 01:56 PM
    BBM itself doesn't do PGP encryption, but there are PGP apps for BB10 (as of a week ago, funny enough): PGpgp - BlackBerry World
    FijiBB likes this.
    02-11-14 01:57 PM
    I was just gonna do the link thing too.

http://appworld.blackberry.com/webst...countrycode=CA

You beat me to it.
    02-11-14 01:58 PM
    Ok yes I've read about this app. What do you lot mean copy and paste?
    Does this app work on the old blackberry devices?
    But i was thinking about adding php encryption to the blackberry device so it can integrate with bum - if that makes sense.
    02-11-14 01:59 PM
    Ok yes I've read about this app. What do you lot mean copy and paste?
    Does this app work on the old blackberry devices?
    But i was thinking about adding php encryption to the blackberry device so it can integrate with bum - if that makes sense.
    I don't think it works for legacy.

As for the PGpgp app itself, once you create your encrypted message, you can export it to a file, or leverage the BB10 share menu to send it via BBM/text/whatever. However, decrypting a message requires copying the PGP message block and pasting it into the app's decryption field.
    02-11-14 02:13 PM
    Will anyone with that app be able to decrypt your message or only someone with the key of the person sending?
    02-11-14 02:48 PM