OK I am a noob wanting to get a Crackberry Bold.

The phone has wifi so that will satisfy my web surfing at no extra cost as long as I am using free wifi (as far as I understand).

They tell me I must get a data plan with the phone in addition to the voice plan, so I figure I will get the cheapest data plan available which is $15 a month. That is good for 2MB of data.

Am I correct in saying that if I connect to the internet using the Bold on wifi that I will NOT be charged any part of the 2MB of available data?

When I need to use the Bold to access my email, how many email messages will 2MB of data hold? and..... when accessing my email am I connected to the internet and is that using up some of the data as well?

Thanks for answering my dumb questions, I am just trying to figure out this data thing. Right now I just use a basic phone and talk and text.
    04-10-09 12:51 AM
    1) WiFi will not incur any charges for you. That's the point and
    the beauty of it.

2) It will take a ton of emails to consume 2mb, unless they
    are huge and laden with large attachments. Honestly most people
    with a data plan who Email, BBM, GPS, text/picture mail, and
    web surf never come close to 2mb

I think you will be fine.
    04-10-09 01:08 AM
    I'm on WAP so I can't tell what carrier you have.

I'm assuming ATT. I have ATT as well but I'm not aware of lower priced data plans. But if this $15 data plan you're referring to isn't an actual BlackBerry data plan I don't think you'll be able to e-mail over wi-fi.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-10-09 01:21 AM
    I'm on WAP so I can't tell what carrier you have.

I'm assuming ATT. I have ATT as well but I'm not aware of lower priced data plans. But if this $15 data plan you're referring to isn't an actual BlackBerry data plan I don't think you'll be able to e-mail over wi-fi.

I don't have the Bold yet, but would be going with Rogers (Canada) and the $15 data plan is a Rogers data plan.