Great! Thanks for that info Aristile. I had a feeling I was not suppose to have a green check mark. My wifi works great and when I need data, I can use it (pay per use) so I have no big worries about seeing the green check mark. It would have been nice though!
    04-06-09 02:02 AM
    I'm completely new to BlackBerry, having only had mine a week, and I've already had to call Orange for a variety of reasons, including having to force them to provision my handset properly so I can get GPRS/BIS working (which took three separate calls).

My handset seems to work fine now, and I managed to set it to work with my home network over Wifi. The wifi icon was grey, which I thought was normal, until after three days of use, UMA kicked in and a ((UMA)) icon replaced the GPRS and signal strength indicators, and the wifi icon turned white! And, yep, my white dash changed to a tick. Unfortunately, calls keep being dropped over wifi so I need to leave it off, despite having a low Orange signal in my house.

I've just turned mobile network to wifi preferred again to see if the icon turns white, and it has quite quickly, but now uma is showing in lowercase. Also, sometimes I have the uma (( I )) icon, and other times UMA III signal strength bars. This is all so confusing!
    04-08-09 02:27 PM
    I have contacted the BBC programme 'Watchdog' about this as it is a joke. After spending most of yesterday and all today trying to get through to Orange it is appalling and i have to hang up after 20 minutes on hold just receiving automated voice messages.
    04-09-09 10:54 AM
    I'm completely new to BlackBerry, having only had mine a week, and I've already had to call Orange for a variety of reasons, including having to force them to provision my handset properly so I can get GPRS/BIS working (which took three separate calls)
    Have you any idea exactly what they had to provision on your handset??

Thanks.
    04-10-09 01:10 PM