Complete BB newbie here.

Since I live in Canada and can't get an unlimited data plan (thanks so much, Rogers). I have not yet bought an 8310 (w. GPS) but that's how I'm leaning.

Is there a way of downloading maps ahead of time and sticking it into the unit (via Bluetooth connection to my laptop eg) so that I can use the GPS w/o making use of the data plan? Do any of the GPS apps for Blackberry support this?

(The sales clerk at Rogers asserted that there was, but wasn't sure or wouldn't tell me which one that might be.)

Cheers,

-- Mike
    03-02-08 09:19 AM
    GPS uses data, no other way around it that I know.

Unless you email the directions to yourself, which is still data.
    03-02-08 09:21 AM
    Most of the GPS applications use a data plan to obtain map information. BB and Google maps update the map constantly as you move. The maps can take up a lot of space, otherwise.

Nav4All will connect to retrieve directions, then use the downloaded information to direct you with arrows and voice directions (no maps). The only time it uses your data plan is when it calculates the directions (which it will also do if you go off course). It uses less connection time, but doesn't display maps.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-02-08 12:08 PM
    Gotta have a Blackberry Data Plan to get maps. No way around that.
    03-02-08 09:10 PM
    There is another way. Me too I'm in Canada. I use the Freedom Keychain GPS 2000. I works perfectly with my BB. It works via bluetooth. It was made to detect 51 satellites worldwide. feel free to pin me if you need extra info's.
    03-03-08 07:24 PM
    will it work in the us too? i dont have a data plan either and would love to use the gps.
    03-04-08 12:21 AM
    There is another way. Me too I'm in Canada. I use the Freedom Keychain GPS 2000. I works perfectly with my BB. It works via bluetooth. It was made to detect 51 satellites worldwide. feel free to pin me if you need extra info's.