I am new to the world of Blackberry, having just got my Pearl 8110, on AT&T. My question is how to enable or turn on the GPS. It says that the Data Source is "Device GPS", and the Service is "Location ON", and that Location Aiding is "Enable", but it does not find any satellites, or give me my Latitude and Longitude. What do I need to do to get GPS working? Thanks.
    08-18-08 10:33 AM
    I just got an 8110 for one of our guys here. We were able to download the Att Telenav no problem. The directions on the ATT site were actually great, however it doesn't find any satellites either. When I go into advanced options, and GPS, I show exactly what cbDennis is showing. I took the phone in a field here with wide open skys, powered off, and back on, but still no satellites. It just says satellites 0, and it doesn't appear to even be searching. What are we doing wrong?
    08-18-08 11:55 AM
    you guys do have data packages with your carrier right? cbdennis are you outside?
    08-18-08 12:02 PM
    go to options>advanced>gps...hit menu refresh gps
    08-18-08 12:06 PM
    go to options>advanced>gps...hit menu refresh gps
    If you don't pay for the Telenav service, but do have data service, can you still utilize third party GPS apps like Blackberry Tracker? I downloaded the tracker, but it doesn't seem to allow GPS tracking.
    08-18-08 12:15 PM
    Hi pltalyor. Yes, I do have the data plan. I just tried doing the Refresh GPS, outside, and it failed. I do not have the AT&T Navigator plan. I want to use some other map programs instead.
    08-18-08 01:38 PM
    I don't think you have to have att's navigator but I can't swear to that, not my carrier, you'll have to ask them that. Verizon disables the gps forcing you to pay extra for there navigation program. make sure you have given full permissions to the gps options>advanced>applications>find the program your using google maps or whatever hit menu> edit permissions> set all to allow and SAVE try again