its funny how Lenovo is being sneered at and their products trash talked now that they bought something from Google but people were talking them up and saying theyre a great, strong company when it was rumoured Lenovo was in talks to buy BlackBerry last year and then talked up again later before we got the $1b investment instead as a possible candidate to rally behind when BlackBerry was offering itself up for sale
    It's always the case! Truely amazing.
    MERCDROID likes this.
    01-30-14 08:49 PM
    Lenovo doesn't exactly have a reputation for maintaining standards when they buy hardware businesses.

Nonsense.

I have been using IBM PCs for decades and Thinkpads for 20 years.

I was skeptical of the IBM PC business buyout myself, but actually after some initial missteps, Lenovo has done an excellent job with that business, to the point that they have become the #1 maker of PCs in the world today.

Have you bought a pre-Lenovo Thinkpad? It was a TANK. Lenovo Thinkpads...not so much.

If you bought a $5,000 Thinkpad back in the days when you could actually get that kind of money for a laptop computer, sure. But one of the great things Lenovo has done is more or less maintain and extend the reputation of the top Thinkpads (ie T and X series) while producing a much broader range of mainstream models at lower price points. Just because you think a $300 IdeaPad is flimsy has nothing to do with their higher-end offerings, which remain excellent. No one's $300 laptop is going to be a "tank".

I still have one of the models below - take a look at the price range listed:

ThinkPads offer power, CD-ROM, voice. (Hardware Review) (IBM ThinkPad 750CE, 755CSE, 755CD) (Evaluation) | HighBeam Business: Arrive Prepared

All this measn is Google can afford a massive loss.
    They will likely get a massive tax-break due to the book losses from that company. Google does tax-evasion with the best of them.