Has anyone tried the Garmin for Blackberry available on the Blackberry.com website? I have the 8703e which has the internal GPS which has apparantly been disable by my carrier (US Cellular), so I've been using Google Maps, Nav4All, and InfoSpace all without a GPS puck, but would like to get some sort of a GPS locator.

I also downloaded the Blackberry Maps which shows up in my application list, but I have no icon...seems to be hidden somewhere? Any suggestions?

Even though I've had my BB for a year I'm still new at this, so pretend I'm mildly ******** with any instructions :-)

By the way, this site is so very helpful and I LOVE my BB 8703e!! Most stable device I've ever owned.
    12-31-07 12:31 PM
    I used the trial of Garmin for BB and it works great. by far the best for BB. Problem is that you cannot download the maps to an SD card. you must used data for the maps AND a subscription service. Standalone GPS still the best bet for long term navigation.
    01-01-08 08:38 PM
    I've been trying to find answers on Garmin before I buy a Curve but their site isn't very informative.

I use the Garmin Mobile 10 for Treo 680 now and I love it. I love that I can download maps to an SD card. You're saying I can't download garmin maps and use w/ BB? I have to pay subscription to get maps and then data plan to actually get the maps?

HUH?

RSW
    02-01-08 03:29 AM
    Yes, the "maps" are downloaded as needed. The advantage is that they are always current, the latest version, and require no internal storage on your BB.

You couldn't put enough memory in a BB to hold the US. =)
    02-26-08 03:45 PM
    Where do you download the trial version?
    02-27-08 04:31 AM