Tizen = Bada which is why they are launching in Russia in Q3 not some mature market. US carriers will be hesitant to carry Tizen phones no matter Samsung muscle.
    Tizen is definitely not Bada.

It's based on Linux and was originally named Limo (Linux Mobile) but was renamed when Intel joined.

A Bada phone cannot run Tizen apps nor be upgraded to Tizen.

Samsung "merged" Bada into Tizen whatever that means. Bada apps are written in C++

Samsungs Tizen device can run some Android apps as well as Bada apps.

This sounds like Samsung Tizen devices supports Android, Native and HTML5.

IMHO Samsung and others are trying create an alternative to Android for a lot of device types - not only mobiles: TV, automobile and wearable. And they have a huge load of money to succeed.

I'm not an expert so pls. correct me if you have other information.

Posted via CB10
    kbz1960 likes this.
    06-09-14 11:07 AM
    Tizen is definitely not Bada.

Posted via CB10
    I didn't mean they were technically equivalent just that Bada was an alternate OS Samsung has been trying to get off the ground for years never having much success and Tizen will be the same.

There are some similarity to the problems BB has keeping BBOS and trying to raise the fortunes of BB10. For Samsung its even worse; at least RIM could say BB10 is an improvement in many ways, all Samsung can say is its different.
    06-09-14 11:22 AM
    Samsungs Tizen device can run some Android apps as well as Bada apps.
    No, it can't run Android apps, but some Android "apps" are really just launchers for an HTML5 web app - in other words, it's a URL with a simple "wrapper" to make it install like an app. Those "apps" can be easily ported over to Tizen (or to BB or Kindle or anything else that runs HTML5) because it's just using a different wrapper, but the same web code.