I turn data off and wifi on, and not get charged for going online?
    09-23-09 09:54 AM
    I believe so, but people are going to ask why have a BB without a data plan?

You won't be able to get BB services without it.
    09-23-09 09:59 AM
    I know of this, obviously from lookign at my trackrecord/profile, I am not a new person here at Crackberry, I am just new with the Bold.

For anyone who says, you NEED the data plan to get the MOST out of your Blackberry Bold, I say to them, this is true, please give me 300 dollars, I will put that down towards my data plan for the first year, or hey, even 100, for a few months, and then I will take care of the rest.

Until I can afford that, I will stay without a data plan.
    09-23-09 10:06 AM
    I turn data off and wifi on, and not get charged for going online?
    I do NOT have a data plan, and actually called AT&T to have them block all data useage, thus there is no way for me to "accidentally" log on and acrue charges. I can't even send MMS messages, as they use 'data." I know this sounds a bit extreme, but for me, it was the easiest way for me to make sure I dont get any surprises in my bill.

My WiFi works perfect though. and I do NOT incure ANY data useage fees.

and for those that think about chiming in with "..blah blah blah. why have a BB w/o a data plan blah blah blah..." suffice it to say that i did, but with my finanical distress, I had to cancel it. 'nuff said there.
    09-23-09 10:12 AM