I just bought my blackberry curve 2 days ago and I cannot get the GPS to find satellites. Someone please tell me what I need to do? I'm new to the blackberry scene so walkthroughs appreciated. And after I get it working, any FREE gps using programs you'd suggest? Thanks for the help ahead of time.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-14-09 11:22 AM
    Go to options>advanced options>GPS and change the setting from 911 only to location on. This should fix it for you.
    03-14-09 12:16 PM
    I already tried this.. It still doesn't work. I'm new to crackberry and blackberry and not the greatest first impression.

03-14-09 03:26 PM
    More information needed.

Does your carrier block the GPS?

What program are you using? (BB Maps typically will get and keep a satellite lock. Google Maps will typically get but not always keep a satellite lock.

Are you outside with a CLEAR view of the sky?

Are you waiting a sufficient amount of time to get a satellite lock? (It can take 10 - 15 minutes to get the first lock.)
    03-14-09 03:30 PM
    May be a silly question, but at least in BB Maps...did you go to the menu and click "Start GPS Navigation?"
    03-14-09 03:39 PM
    I was in a car waiting for signal for like 10 minutes. I'm using bb maps and I clicked find me

03-14-09 10:45 PM
    Try start navigation as this calls up satellites to locate you. Calm down lose the entitlement that it should work the way you think it should work.

Its a new device. It takes time. Patience.

03-14-09 10:59 PM
    I have pretty good luck with the gps on my 8330. I would suggest that you download and try it since it is free. Plus it works pretty much the same as the online one.

The gps can be a little slow to start up, but I find that google maps is a little faster with the gps than BB maps. Verify your settings and give it a try.

03-14-09 11:30 PM
    I was in a car waiting for signal for like 10 minutes. I'm using bb maps and I clicked find me