Hi all,

Newbie here, just pickup up a Blackberry Curve 8330 yesterday.

For GPS capabilities do i need to purchase anything to get this to work?

Ive downloaded Nav4all but when loading i get "Waiting for GPS" the No GPS Coordinates. Never connects. I have the GPS Services : Location On. Do i need something else?

I have Verizon with unlimited everything...

Thanks
    08-26-08 12:27 PM
    You can't get any so called GPS, with out VZ Nav. $10.00 a month. and FYI verizon has locked out the GPS chipset.

Check the GPS section, for more info...
    08-26-08 12:29 PM
    welcome to verizion
    08-26-08 12:31 PM
    welcome to verizion

Only you would post something like that LMAO
    08-26-08 12:33 PM
    Love pltaylor post

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-26-08 12:35 PM
    Thanks for the replies.
    So then the lock it at a software level, isn't there a hack to get around this?
    08-26-08 12:48 PM
    Thanks for the replies.
    So then the lock it at a software level, isn't there a hack to get around this?

Lol no it's a long long story....

http://forums.crackberry.com/f61/gps...0-update-1279/

Same applies to the 8330...

Lot's of good info in there.
    08-26-08 12:54 PM
    The only work around is to buy a bluetooth GPS puck and use that instead of the internal GPS.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-26-08 12:55 PM
    thanks again, well good thing its a company phone.
    Ok, so a 1 time fee for a gps puck.

I assume my GPS still works in compliance with wireless E911, which is required by law.

So there only blocking the use of a 3rd party application because they provide navigation service? wow money hungry?
    08-26-08 01:00 PM
    yep, most companies chqarge $10.00 but some do not. and they also allow other GPS app's....

So let me ask you this, you totally new to VZW.. and where you told about GPS when you got the phone....?
    08-26-08 01:05 PM