I work in finance/banking. No company phones, everyone uses their personal devices. We are constantly on them (at least I am), evenings and weekends, calls, company emails, texts, etc. Kind of expected to be because that's when a lot of business happens.

Yesterday we were told we had to sign and acknowledge a new policy. Not only that we are not to talk/email/text anything businesses related while driving (yeah right), but...

They are saying we have to give permission to the bank to remotely wipe our PERSONAL devices at any time and for any reason, which would include personal data, contacts, photos, videos, etc.

That's some BS, and it sounds like a lot of people are not cool with it. The obvious answer is BlackBerry Balance. But how arrogant can a business be trying to demand such a thing from their employees?

Posted via CB10
    theRock1975 likes this.
    08-30-14 04:48 PM
    I'd certainly be unhappy with that. Yes, Balance seems to be a likely solution. Has anyone suggested this to the company?
    theRock1975, shaleem and sk8er_tor like this.
    08-30-14 04:55 PM
    That's your company policy. You have to examine in details to see if it violate some sort of privacy regulation. No company shall have the right to intrude on the privacy of it's employee. The burden shall lies with the company to provide alternative whereby the two, company versus privacy of employees shall not cross path. I'm just base on OP general description of the imposed policy.

Posted via CB10
    LoneStarRed likes this.
    08-30-14 04:57 PM
    Well that is what BYOD means ,their policy trumps your rights to privacy even with your personal hardware . They can do it as they "subsidized " your monthly use. We issue corporate devices yet with BlackBerry 10 we wipe only the work space when necessary. The employee can use his personal. side as he/she wishes. We have no wish to access it either.

Posted via CB10
    08-30-14 05:03 PM