Hello guys,

I am a newbie in this forum, but yesterday while looking at our sister WPCentral.com, I came across an interesting post by contributor, brMiller1976. It seems that the imminent launch of the BB10 phones has caused quite a stir among some Windows Phone users. I apologize if there is already a thread on this topic.

What do you guys think? Will BB10 give Windows phone a serious challenge and knock them out of the 3rd place spot? Do you think BB10 will stop the momentum behind the Windows phone or is the market big enough for both platforms to thrive and provide an eventual competitive alternative to the IOS and Android platforms?

http://forums.windowscentral.com/bla...ows-phone.html

I'm starting to worry a bit.

I played with a colleague's "Developer Alpha" version of the BB10 OS, and I had a couple of observations:

1) In Alpha form, BB10 is more complete and less buggy than release-day WP8 was. It has a better music player, and the experience is just as smooth and sexy.

2) RIM took its time to "get everything right." They've ramped up hardware production, they have every major carrier in the US and worldwide supporting their launch (unlike WP) and there are unlikely to be device shortages, regardless of demand. They also spent time to fix and tweak every element of the software experience.

3) RIM is launching with over 100,000 apps in the BB10 store.

4) RIM is making it easy for Android apps to be ported over to native BB10. That means that apps like Instagram and others will be reasonably easy to develop for BB10, and will arrive for that platform long before we get them.

5) RIM, the principal hardware company for BlackBerry, is profitable (as of last quarter) and cash-flow-positive. Nokia, the principal hardware company for Windows Phone, is bleeding cash fast.