Hi everyone! I am trying to set up my wifi on my curve 8530. I was reading the complete wifi guide on here but it didn't mention this part. I am at home and the scan picked up my linksys router. I clicked on it and it says "the wireless router supports wifi protected setup. To connect using a PIN (which your blackberry will generate) click next". I'm not even sure if this is a step I need to do but when I click on next is says provisioning wifi profiles...enter this PIN into your wireless router. I'm lost! Sorry but I am new to this. I think I need a personal BB trainer....lol. Thanks in advance. I love this site!!!!
    06-30-10 07:20 AM
    What type of wifi protection you have on the router. Have you connected a laptop recently.. Maybe entered a WEP key on the laptop to connect. You want to do the same for this connection...

More info please.
    06-30-10 07:27 AM
    You need to log into the configuration GUI for your router (from a computer on your network) and add the PIN generated from you blackberry to the wireless setup. Sorry I can't be more specific, but just *how* to do this is dependent on the type of wireless router you own. The router address is usually 192.168.1.1
    06-30-10 07:30 AM
    and consult your wireless router manual for the defualt password for the router when you go to log in. It may just be admin, or password. (reccomend changing).
    If you dont have the manual you can google it as well.
    06-30-10 07:48 AM
    Ok so I think I'm connected and here's why I think....1. It say linksys home (typed in home in the profile) right above the time and date on my home screen on my bb. 2. In connections wifi box is checked to the left and in green it says linksys home and then a green check.

yester18....I have no idea what type of protection I have on my router. I do know we don't enter a security code whenever we connect from our laptops. And yes, there are 3 laptops in the house.