Carriers crackdown on all tether apps not just Blackberry's:

(http)://tinyurl(.)com/5v5dnzb

I think Carriers fear tablets taxing their networks and tethering from established data plans would disrupt their business model. Carriers want to charge a premium for tethering. FCC should crack open this oligopoly market by not approving ATT & T-Mobile merger. It will only make matters worse! More competition is required not less!

P.S. I am a newbie so unable to post links, please remove parentheses.
    trsbbs likes this.
    04-30-11 07:31 AM
    I saw this on the Apple part of CrackBerry.com. It seems they will let you change your contract. And if you don't they will just change it without you. They have a way to tell who is tethering too. So there are going to be many angry people over this.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-30-11 07:38 AM
    If you didn't see this coming you're an *****.

Seriously, the fact that you need to use apps to try an hide the fact that you're tethering from the carrier should have been a warning that there would be a crackdown on this eventually.

The whole "It's a sad day when we can't use the data we pay for in the way we want" argument is silly. You're paying to use your carrier's network. They dictate how you can use the network since they own it. Just like how if you rent an apartment the landlord can set out rules as to what you can and can't do with the property.

I'm not saying that that it's right that tethering is so expensive or that carriers can charge so much for data but that's the reality of the situation.
    04-30-11 12:56 PM
    just my luck. i just bought tether cuz it was on sale 50% off
    04-30-11 02:20 PM
    I think you should pay for tethering. If not we would have trouble due to lack of bandwidth.