Hi there

This is my very first post in Crackberry.com and I am really hopeful that all the guys of this forum will help me to learn and the master the BB Bold that I am going to buy in next couple of days / weeks and also it will be my very first BB.

Tell you the truth I am very new to GPS, satellite navigation, geotagging, geocaching and tracking stuff so dont know how to do all that and which apps are really good with and without Voice Guided Navigation.

I am moving to Canada from a tiny country of Asia so it will be really cool if I can have a GPS enabled phone that can always keep me on right track.

Can you gus suggest few very good GPS apps for Bold for Canada?

For voice guided navigation do I really need to have the Blackberry internet plan activated on my Bold?

Is there a way to have the voice guided navigation without the BB internet thing (BIS or BES, whatever it is called)?

May sound silly but is Bold GPS (without voice) any good?

Also can I use the GPS without having any SIM or Network connection on Bold?
    Last edited by SMSabir; 04-14-09 at 12:24 AM.
    04-14-09 12:21 AM
    I believe that all of the voice navigation systems require data at some point to get your location, send it for the route calculation or maps. I think one of them might be able to continue showing the route you were intended to take after the initial fix but if you go off-course, it will not be able to correct the route and recalculate.

There are other gps programs like gps-logger (currently offline by programmer) that does NOT need data but can trace your route and show it afterward. Trekbuddy and MobileGmaps (not google) can show your location on maps that you download to your computer and copy to an SD card but you need to create the maps in advance.

Googlemaps and BBmaps can create routes using data but do not do voice, only written directions or arrows.

Data makes all of these more current. I don't know the data plans in Canada or the Bold
    04-14-09 12:33 AM