People on CB "wamnt" HTML5 apps because that's the only hope left for BB10 app issues. If BB10 had all the needed apps, most would react to web apps with "cool" and then move on.

Most developers don't develop HTML5 apps for mobile, hell, not even BB does it. Only in the CB echo chamber HTML5 is a godsend and will solve BB10's app prolem.
    Ronindan, JeepBB and PygmySurfer like this.
    05-27-16 02:44 PM
    Apps are profitable. Its like the transition from gasoline to alternate fuels. The industry has developed around apps and it will take something really huge to break away from that. I would love to see a cloud system that allowed apps to be purchased/installed and run remotely. What dev wouldn't want their app to be universal with no changes in code.
    I am a dev who doesn't want universal apps because I know universal is another word for "lowest common denominator".

Users and developers (and designers!) like iOS apps that are proper iOS apps and Android apps which are proper Android apps. Supporting 2 platforms is not so hard that I'd want to give up functionality and integration just so I don't have to maintain 2 apps.

If it were 5 apps, it might be a different story. But it isn't 5. It's just 2.
    05-27-16 03:17 PM
    Mobile websites/apps built on top of HTML5/JS have to usually cater to the lowest common denominator. Anything that has to work well universally (at least theoretically) has to cater to the lowest common denominator and cannot compete with things that are NOT bound by this philosophy/restriction. Facetime works as well as it does because Apple does NOT care about standards and interoperability in developing Facetime, it only needs to be optimized for Apple made OS and Apple made hardware. Standards and interoperability is a good thing to force everyone to play by the rules, but rules by its definition limit what you can do.
    Laura Knotek likes this.
    05-27-16 03:34 PM