im new to blackberry currently i have the 4.2 not updated or anything that came with my blackberry 8800 for rogers network, does anyone know if the OS 4.6 will be able to install on my blackberry 8800 ?!?!

and where abouts i could get information on how to proceeed for the update or new install ?

do i have to purchase the new OS from blackberry ?!

thanks thanks
    05-06-08 02:35 PM
    You already have the latest OS for your model. 4.5 hasn't even been released yet. So I wouldn't even think about 4.6.
    05-06-08 02:47 PM
    Welcome 2 CB...

4.6 may not do much, if anything for your 8800. The next OS will be the 4.5 for your berry.

05-06-08 02:52 PM
    You already have the latest OS for your model. 4.5 hasn't even been released yet. So I wouldn't even think about 4.6.
    Welcome to the Crack!
    The safest place to find the latest OS, and it's usually free of cost, plus comes with instructions, is your Carrier web site.
    05-06-08 02:57 PM
    thank you all for posting and being so welcoming , i didnt expect anyone to reply so fast.

iv only had this phone for a bit which by means of bay purchase i obtained it at a reasonable price, so i dont think that my carrier (rogers) would have any type of updates or anything for me from their site. mind u rogers is horrible at customer service, useless infact.

so i was hoping i could simply download updates or reinstall the OS on it.

now i did the research and i found that the 4.5 will be supported on the 8800, but i would rather have wait till the 4.6 (as i like the interface better) that is why i was asking if it would be possible to just wait for the 4.6 and install that . but if not the 4.5 will do.

where is some good sources for the downloading of updates (currently i have 4.2.1.101, platform 2.3.0.80) ? blackberry site ? (one again i searched rogers and found nothing)

and not only how do i update/install these... but what should i know too as its my first blackberry and i have never done this before