From Chris Umiastowsk analysis, he states:

"He acknowledged that, going forward, there would be a change in RIM's service fee structure. Some customers will still want the "full package", including security, mobile device management, and BES 10. They will generate the highest fees for RIM. But some customers won't need any extra services from RIM and will therefore generate no fees at all for Team BlackBerry."

If I do not misunderstand, this means non enterprise consumers will have a choice:
    i. premium BB/RIM services using BIS
    ii. normal 'joe doe' that has a android (that is me), that wishes to have freedom and use any SIM card with any data plan, without worrying about BIS or balckberry.net apn subscription.

I have defended this duality of services (for non BES). It is true that I have no BB background except my PB ... so, perhaps I am missing something important with BIS... but I guess, most people on my corner would also think twice if they had to change their subscription. For sure, most current BB subscribers, will maintain their BB subscription.

To summarize, I think it is a 'good' move for RIM if they want to compete with all guns and directly their competition. For premium BB services, they really need to demonstrate BIS advantages, so new subscribers are attracted this service (instead of forcing them). So, interesting challenge for RIM.

So, what do you think?
    12-20-12 07:55 PM
    Pretty sure Rogers up here is like this already

Sent from my BlackBerry 9810 using Tapatalk
    12-20-12 08:03 PM
    I think this is a step toward offering BIS to competitor OSes and maybe third party app developers. This could unlock significant value for RIM.

It also seems to mean BES implementations will no longer be required to handle all traffic -- making deployments much more flexible.

Am I wrong here?
    12-20-12 08:17 PM