UM, did you miss the part where I am a paramedic, their dad, grandfather and uncle are police officers? LOL unfortunatly my children know all to well about the "real world", probably more than they should and def more than other kids their ages have been exposed to. They have heard much and seen pictures... we are open with them about what we encounter at our jobs. This could be why they are so willing to have such open conversations with us? They are all quite aware of what can happen when bad dfecisions are made. Please don't read all of this wrong. I do not keep them under lock and key with only a bible to read, lol. They come and go with their friends, and I can trust they are where they say they will be but again I am not above checking in on them. I dont have myself convinced that they will never sneak around because their friends are doing it. we will come to that when we have to. WOW this is more than I thought it would be. Simply put I know what is going on with my kids. Are you as honest with your parents? That is what all healthy realtionships are made of. Honesty. If I didn't trust them they sure wouldnt have smart phones either lol.
    I have a great relationship with my mom and dad. I however would never let them check my text messages or calls. To me thats personal. I let my mom and dad know what im doing and they know im not a bad kid. I have never gotten in big trouble or anything. I also have an older cousin who had overprotective parents. She ended up getting pregnant with a guy because she was never allowed to act like she was in the real world. And yes she was warned of teen pregnancy and drugs and all and her parents showed her the consequences. I am however pretty open to the world. I know a ton of things about current events in the world. I just cant see how your kids can stand it.

I really could care less about how you treat your kids im just trying to give you my perspective as a 13 year old in middle school.
    04-12-09 08:27 PM