RIM needs to do something with it's OS 7 devices. I know they don't have the "horsepower" to run BB 10. But, would it be possible to run an OS based on the QNX Micro kernel as an upgrade to OS 7. Not just a theme but actual OS, just not as capable in order to give the processor a break and the battery as well. I'm not a programmer so I sure don't know if this is possible

Just a thought,
    05-03-12 03:24 PM
    Pretty sure QNX on any level needs a dual-core processor to handle the multitasking and intense graphics
    05-03-12 03:42 PM
    Yea would be nice to have some sort of QNX on OS7 but will not happen. Me I'm very happy with OS7 just the way it is. Phone does everything I ask it to with easy. there are some folks here still running OS 4.0 & are quite happy.
    MADBRADNYC likes this.
    05-03-12 03:50 PM
    No, it is not possible. OS 7 devices will not be upgrading to BB10. Just as most OS 5 devices were not upgraded to 6.

This is not a secret. The processes that BB10 requires are not even present in the current crop of handsets. You probably have as much chance of seeing BB10 on an 8520 than you do on an OS 7 device.

I'm sorry, but RIM has always been great when it comes to supporting older devices. Why do they need to reinvent the wheel. There would be no gain if they did all that work. BB10 is a new OS designed for a new handset/hardware lineup.
    05-03-12 03:54 PM
    Sadly BB10 on OS7 device is basically impossible and not cause of the processor.
    Look on the bright side.
    you will be able to upgrade to OS8
    which will probably still
    bring u that great new Virtual Keyboard and some other features.
    RIM is not gonna abandon OS7 users. Remember OS7 devices are still gonna be selling full force internationally for a year or 2 more.

Sent from my BlackBerry 9810 using Tapatalk
    05-03-12 03:55 PM