With patent wars all over in the smartphone world, this latest news makes me wonder what did RIM do to protect one of their interesting, albeit cosmetic, features?

Here's the article...... Blackberry 10-styled lockscreen now available as a mod for Android | Ubergizmo
    10-31-12 10:05 AM
    Even if RIM did have a patent for it, I don't think they'd be able to sue someone for creating a mod that's not for commercial purposes. I'm no patent lawyer though.
    10-31-12 10:11 AM
    Pretty sure RIM didn't invent the lock screen transition. I guess they could try and patent it though.
    10-31-12 10:17 AM
    I don't know how it all works either but I do know that Apple has gone and patented their unlock swipe (and pretty much any swipe motion to unlock a screen) so thought maybe RIM could've done the same.
    10-31-12 10:20 AM
    To be perfectly honest, I'm not sure how to react to this, part of me wants to say that it's obviously a cool idea otherwise the dev wouldn't have bothered to copy it, but part of me want him to get burned for stealing someone else's idea.
    The part which really annoyed me though was this line from the article: "...there were some changes made to the UI which made the interface more modern"... no , IT'S A BRAND NEW OS!!! Learn about what you're writing about!!!

Si.
    10-31-12 10:22 AM
    Maan this sucks! All we have seen are a few leaks and now this! Geez, by the time BB10 comes out ALL of their leaked features will already be on Other Devices!!! There won't be any new surprises to brag about come Launch except for the ones that RIM, Thank GOD, are keeping close to their chest.
    10-31-12 10:37 AM
    To be perfectly honest, I'm not sure how to react to this, part of me wants to say that it's obviously a cool idea otherwise the dev wouldn't have bothered to copy it, but part of me want him to get burned for stealing someone else's idea.