I've seen a lot of scary threads on user experiences with BlackBerry 10. Fortunately, my experience was very different. But thought it might be fun to share.

Sorry for the long read. 4 summarized experiences (Short version, all positive, nothing amazing here though)

Long version:

Store: Bell Kiosk, Bow Valley Center in Calgary

When the Z10 was first released in day one - it was impossible to find in the US. But as a developer, I had played with my Dev A a lot and being Canadian I was excited to see the Z10 on release day. So myself and two coworkers stopped at the local Bell kiosk.

The girls were super friendly, and the phone was showcased - they actually had 3. 2 on display with the wire holder, and one on the desk the girls were playing with. One of the girls was playing on her own Z10 - and they couldn't hold back their enthusiasm. They told us they received 10 for selling that day and only had 1 left. They also said the Z10 sample unit was being used all day by different people and how excited people were to see the phone. And how lots of passerby folks were surprised it was a blackberry.

They showed us their favorite features. And they asked a lot of questions (mostly about features - confirming what they were told is true). Place in part because myself and another coworker do some app development and had plenty of experience to show them things. To this day, the girl still uses a Z10.

Store: Wind Mobile, Northland in Calgary

When I managed to trade up my Dev A for an LE, I stopped on at a wind mobile store to get the new smaller SIM card for the LE. Wind is lower on the totem pole here but more mellow. The store was quiet, Z10 was at the front. The phone didn't work - but none of them did (bbry or otberwise). There was one guy manning the desk - very cool guy.