I’m no engineer, but that has to date the components to early LTE days....
    And don't forget, one of the 4 Z10 models (the STL100-1) didn't even have LTE. It was intended for a market that hadn't yet fully transitioned to LTE when it came out.

Of course, the delay in BB10 release meant that those markets were just getting LTE, and a new phone was coming from BlackBerry that didn't support it.
    01-05-19 02:06 PM
    This is what I’ve never fully understood. In a BBOS device, the BB symbol represented my BIS data up and running and connected to BIS servers for email. In a BB10 device, since data is from carrier, what does the BB symbol represent and when not present NOW, what is down or not functioning?
    Where is all the alarmism on this site coming from?!? Take note of the following from John Chen published in December of 2017:

Supporting BB10 and BBOS Customers and Rewarding Your Loyalty | Inside BlackBerry

From the article dated Dec 2017:

"Third, we want to reward your loyalty by committing to providing you with at least two full years of additional support for BB10 and at least two full years of BlackBerry network access for BBOS devices."

AT LEAST TWO FULL YEARS OF SUPPORT -- that means at least until the end of this year (2019). The BlackBerry symbol in the top corner of the screen means access to the BlackBerry network (including BIS) and BlackBerry stuff like BBM. BlackBerry 10 continues to work and will continue to work, and even older devices on BIS will continue to work.
    01-05-19 05:45 PM
    That's awesome of BlackBerry. They don't have to do that - they could be like apple and deliberately make your old phone suck by slowing it down, etc. Overtures like this are one of many reasons BlackBerry has such a cult following... but it makes me more excited to upgrade to a new BlackBerry.
    01-05-19 05:59 PM
    Where is all the alarmism on this site coming from?!? Take note of the following from John Chen published in December of 2017: