Hi!
    I am new to BlackBerry phones, therefore I have some questions about the phone. First of all, it is my first BlackBerry and I am not fully informed about its features. Got that phone from Uk t-mobile, asked for the MEP code and unlocked the phone, so now I am using it with prepaid SIM, so basicly without a data plan. I am thinking to select one from my local BlackBerry provider - Bite ( subsidiary company for vodafone? Well they are partner companies ), but that is not the problem.

I am trying to connect my home wireless router - Airlive Mimo-g - but the connection often disappears, so the device disconnects from the WiFi service. Sometimes it is possible to open few web pages before the connection disappears.. It is almost impossible to use google sync or other applications that use wifi. I got the google sync work at my girfriends house, so could it be my routers problem? It is really annoying when you are standing next to the router but the connection disappears, or the SSID is not found in the available network list.

The router setting is:

I'm just curious - do I really need a data plan to access the WiFi? Please help me with this question, it is really anoying.

+ Is it possible to make the caller_ID picture larger?
    + Will the BlackBerry inform me when it is using 3g network and when WiFi ? ( I would like to prioritise which network to use ).

Well I hope that you will understand my post ( Because of my bad english and disorganised text ).

Thank You for reading!
    06-29-10 08:07 AM
    What kind of router does your GF have?

Best bet is to Google "Connecting Blackberry to a MIMO router".

You don't need a data plan for WiFi, only for wireless network use.

You can prioritize you connection under Options > Mobile Network. You can set connection preference to WiFi preferred. You can also set it to WiFi only, but if you are out of range of WiFi you won't be able to make or receive phone calls.
    06-29-10 08:23 AM