This might sound crazy for some; I've never seen mention of this on CB before, but I don't haunt the Storm forums either. Maybe someone agrees with me.
    I'm seeing improved battery life by using Wifi. I work in a hospital that has wifi available. They also use a VZW network extender so there is solid signal throughout the building. I use meterberry to track battery usage. I keep GPS turned to 911 only, always. I have a 2600 battery. If I keep wifi on I lose about 1.5 to 2% per hour with light usage. If I turn wifi off I lose 5% or a little more per hour. My theory is that the wifi radio uses less power than the CDMA radio does, so when I'm connected to BIS using wifi I get better battery life.
    I'm just seeing if anyone can confirm this, or would be willing to try.
    Thanks.

Posted from my BlackBerry using BerryBlab
    10-17-10 01:45 AM
    Skyboxer, I don't think this is crazy at all. I have been saying this for months! I get much better battery life by using the wi-fi at work than the cell network. I have done nothing but "unofficial" testing but if you want I will try and keep track with some dates and numbers and see if we can compare notes, so to speak.

I work in a one level high school campus that covers a lot of ground that is totally wireless. We have pretty good coverage with several different wireless networks I can use. I always join the same one everyday. I don't know if that would make a difference as to my battery usage as I roam around the building. I mean, I get a signal wherever I go, so I guess I can't say my phone works any harder in one place or another.

I will make a conscious effort to keep track of the total drop in batt life by hour and post just for the halibut, knowing that every wireless situation is DIFFERENT. If you would like...
    10-17-10 08:45 AM
    OK, maybe I just am not understanding this clearly, but if you turn off the CDMA, how do you receive a phone call??
    10-17-10 01:51 PM