I'm an indie developer, and yesterdays announcement of a guaranteed 10K has me interested in trying blackberry 10 development. I'm not looking to skate by on a fart app, but I certainly understand I don't have the next angry birds in my mind either. What are the official terms of "quality apps"?

As an android developer, it would probably be best if I could port my android apps after optimizing them a bit for blackberry. I'm assuming the android player will remain on BB10? Will android player apps qualify as "quality" or are they trying to get dev's to make a native app? If anyone can provide more details, that would be awesome. What I've seen so far has been incredibly vague on the idea of "quality".

Also, I'm assuming not, but might the Playbook get access to a BB10 beta before release? I'm considering getting one if I start development.
    05-02-12 10:58 AM
    I have no idea about the answers to your questions, but IN MY OPINION, an Android app running in the Android Player should never be considered a "Quality App". It has nothing to do with the Android App or the Developers, but the quality of the Android Player doesn't allow for a truely quality app.
    kbz1960 and bluetroll like this.
    05-02-12 11:41 AM
    The "quality app" moniker will be bestowed upon the apps by an independent third party.
    I'm not finding any details as of yet but without knowing the "parameters" an app will be judged by, it's a guessing game for all of us.

Keep in mind that your app will need to fetch $1,000 in sales in order to qualify for the $10,000 guarantee program.

So don't assume you'll be getting $10,000 from RIM just because you develop an app. If you get your app certified on App World and don't earn $10,000 in the first year, RIM will cut you a check for the difference.