...I started questioning myself if it was the right device for me.

I'm a newbie and googled all sort of things on the subject on the subject.

However, I still have a few questions I hope somebody could shed some light on.

1) As a private user, I would need to go with BIS. I understand that device and carrier BB account are linked univocally, and changing SIM while travelling for a couple of weeks is not an option. However, let's say I'm in an area not covered by my network operator, but wirelessly connected with my home broadband router. Would blackberry.server refuse the connection because it doesn't come from a "whitelisted" IP on the mobile.network? I guess not, so how can BIS server distinguish between my cell network IP and my wifi IP?

2) Yahoo! Vs GMail. Which one should I go with? GMail offers a lot more than Yahoo!, but I'm currently a yahoo.de free email user and I understand non yahoo.com accounts can get full BB support. Now, what does that exactly mean? Does Yahoo! offer full reconciliation for email (sent items, read/unread, deleted messages, etc), calendar and contacts all built-in BB OS?

3) Why BB? I mean, there's all sorts of smartphones with push email on the market. Why would I want a BB over an iPhone or Android, which I can use with any 2G, 3G and WiFi SIM deal out there? Okay, that's a bit of a cheeky question on a BB dedicated forum, but I just wanted to have your experienced view on this.

Thanks!
    05-27-10 03:57 PM
    Anyone?
    ____
    06-04-10 06:07 AM
    #1 - i doubt if this will happen, when I had a Bold 9000 I would use the Wi-Fi signal from my home rather than the data in my BIS package... never had any hiccups or hangups there

#2 - I use Gmail for my personal account on my BB... it's almost fully integrated, you can delete emails on your device and they will be deleted in your inbox, or you can just download the mobile app from Google Mobile