I'm very new to the BB world, and even newer to Geocaching. My service is through Alltel, which has recently been bought by Verizon.
    A lot of the threads I read about Verizon and GPS problems are from a while ago, sometimes more than 2 years.
    Is this still an issue?
    If so what are my options to get around this? A good GPS puck? If so which are good right now?
    08-09-09 06:30 PM
    I'm very new to the BB world, and even newer to Geocaching. My service is through Alltel, which has recently been bought by Verizon.
    A lot of the threads I read about Verizon and GPS problems are from a while ago, sometimes more than 2 years.
    Is this still an issue?
    If so what are my options to get around this? A good GPS puck? If so which are good right now?
    Verizon is no longer blocking GPS. If you get a device with OS version 4.5 and above it is unlocked. if you get an older device that supports 4.5 you just need to update your OS and it will be unlocked.
    08-09-09 06:34 PM
    Ah, ok. I'm in the process of downloading the update now, and figured I would ask as well.
    This is very good news! Thank you!
    08-09-09 06:36 PM
    I do not have Verizon, but I have read a lot of the threads around here. My understanding is the Storm and the Tour are the only models with unlocked GPS chips. The 4.5 upgrade allowed Blackberry Maps to access the GPS, but that is all. Google Maps will use cell tower triangulation to get an approximate location.
    08-09-09 07:00 PM
    Can anyone confirm that my 8330 will only be able to access BBMaps for the GPS?
    08-09-09 07:10 PM
    Yep that's it.Verizon wants us to pay for GPS.And everytime I used Google Maps to find my location it was way off.
    08-09-09 07:43 PM