I am new to blackberrys and have tried to solve this on my own, but am not having much luck. I need some help
    I have a 8330 Curve from Vz with data plan. BB Maps was preinstalled and I have added Google Maps. Both work, but no GPS since I refuse to pay Vz's monthly ransom to unlock the BB provided internal GPS
    I have a Holux GPSlim 236 Bluetooth GPS receiver that I used with MapQuest and my Palm TX. So I fired it up and paired it with my BB. I adjusted the device properties to be trusted without prompting. Then I went to Options / GPS and selected the Holux GPS as my default GPS source.
    Google maps and BB Maps are still indicating 1700 - 5000 meter accuracy and I cannot find a way to select the external GPS as a source. I get the flashing bluetooth indicator on my BB when pairing, but not at any other time. I also installed GPSed, but cannot get a GPS connection with it either. LEDs on GPS indicate satellite lock. What am I missing?
    07-13-08 08:36 AM
    ...I have a Holux GPSlim 236 Bluetooth GPS receiver that I used with MapQuest and my Palm TX. So I fired it up and paired it with my BB. I adjusted the device properties to be trusted without prompting. Then I went to Options / GPS and selected the Holux GPS as my default GPS source.
    Google maps and BB Maps are still indicating 1700 - 5000 meter accuracy and I cannot find a way to select the external GPS as a source. I get the flashing bluetooth indicator on my BB when pairing, but not at any other time. I also installed GPSed, but cannot get a GPS connection with it either. LEDs on GPS indicate satellite lock. What am I missing?
    You also have to tell BBMaps that you're using an external GPS. BBMaps/Menu/Options/GPS Settings. Select your external device.

Google Maps can't start an external GPS. You have to run BBMaps, get a lock on the constellation, then exit BBMaps without closing it, leaving it running in the background, then start Google Maps.