Hello, newbie here

I have been looking at possibly getting the 9800 when it comes to Canada but have a few questions first.

I generally despise texting but I wanted some clarification on how the plans work.

As I understand it, "Text messages" when advertised by the carrier are SMS messages sent between cell-phones, correct?

If I have a plan that allows 500 texts per month, does that only covers phone-phone texts or also messages sent between a phone and someone using MSN Messenger on their home computer? In other words, are messages to an MSN Messenger user considered "text messages" or do they fall under data usage?

Also, emails. My ISP at home is Shaw. Am I correct in assuming that I can simply set up my BB to send and receive messages through my @shaw.ca account or do I need a RIM account to send messages through? And are emails metered differently from data and text messages?

Looking through Bell plans, I noticed that one of the features was "Unlimited WiFi at Starbucks". I thought WiFi was separate from carrier plans and acted more like a computer than a phone, or have the carriers somehow found a way to cripple that feature too? Can I use my BB's WiFi anywhere without any time and data limitations?

Thanks for the help!
    06-07-10 08:34 PM
    For BlackBerry, texting plans only cover SMS. MMS uses data.

In order to use MMS, get your emails pushed to your device, to use BlackBerry Messenger or any of the native IM apps (MSN, Yahoo Messenger, AIM), you need a BlackBerry data plan (BIS). You also need BIS if you want to use the native Facebook or Twitter apps.

BlackBerry App World will not work if you do not have a BlackBerry data plan.
    06-07-10 08:37 PM
    Hello, newbie here

I have been looking at possibly getting the 9800 when it comes to Canada but have a few questions first.

I generally despise texting but I wanted some clarification on how the plans work.