I am changing (upgrading) my iphone 4 tomorrow for the bb9900 or the 9930?

What are the main differences if any?

and i cant wait to get rid of the iphone 4....... 4 replacements i have had...

are the bb's more reliable before i agree a further 18months?

cheers
    09-11-11 02:38 PM
  2. T
    The 9900 is the gsm version of this new Bold. The 9930 is the CDMA version of the same Bold. If you're in the US, and you're on Sprint or Verizon, you would get the 9930. If you're on AT&T or TMobile, you would get the 9900.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    09-11-11 02:44 PM
    I live in the UK....

So they are the exact same phone?

Why would blackberry then release 2 of the same phone?

Or is one more for buiness and the other for something else?

sorry i no i am a novice
    09-11-11 02:57 PM
    The 9900 is the gsm version of this new Bold. The 9930 is the CDMA version of the same Bold. If you're in the US, and you're on Sprint or Verizon, you would get the 9930. If you're on AT&T or TMobile, you would get the 9900.

Hey thats not fair! The 9850 has GSM/HSPA radios too! It just doesnt support as many frequencies as the 9860.

But yes to the OP, like Tnis said, The 9850 is the CDMA version and in the US it will run in 1X EV-DO, whereas the 9860 is the GSM variant that is strictly GSM and does not support CDMA in any way.

GSM is a much more globally standardised technology. For this reason international roaming is excellent with GSM. There is so much international roaming in Europe therefore GSM is used 100%. However CDMA isnt as internationally accepted. Great in your own country but if you want to travel somewhere else the chances are your CDMA phone wont work.

But the 9850 will support 3G in Europe as it has a 2100MHz HSPA radio.
    If your from the US and your unlocking the 9850 to run on a GSM network you will only get EDGE service.

Im getting carried away here....

lol, The difference between the phones is the radios. Thats it.