So I've been lurking around this forum for years.

I'm a BES admin for a SMALL office. We have 12 BB handsets and we have been using them for years. 2008 I think.

We started with the 8800, moved to the 9000, got some 9700s, got 9800s and I even have a Storm2.

Now we have 1 (one) playbook! Which is working great! (we'll get more soon)

So this is a short rant, which I'm sure won't win many friends. But our BB stuff has been working great. I think we have rebooted the BES server twice and once was to upgrade to new hardware. That is at least five 9s I think.

As for the handsets, we have had one faulty antenna and a speaker that got real quiet, those I suspect were drops onto concrete. We had a few other drops which were obviously damage from an impact. We has someone drop their 9000 screen first onto a concrete step corner. It all still worked, but you couldn't read anything as the screen was toast.

The only *problems* we have had have been with the carrier. They have turned out BES service off once, some how turned off cell towers and a few other incidents that make you laugh.

Our BB handsets travel around the world, they get beat up, stuck in pockets with cigarettes and keys, get clogged with fluff, grime, hair and mud. They keep on getting their emails. Our now retired 9000s are looking pretty used and abused these days, but they still work great.

So I've been wondering, what do people do to break their BBs?

I read about all sorts of problems, which is useful stuff to know about. Also I know that my sample size is small. But our BB stuff has been awesome, so much so that other companies we deal with have started using BES.

Thus I declare RIM is awesome.

Also, no really, what DO people do to break their stuff? Have I just been real lucky or what?

AND I don't work for RIM.
    06-28-11 07:27 AM